Lux Book Series

For the past few months I have been in love with a new book series, The Lux Series.  It’s a romance/sci-fi, young adult series, written by Jennifer Armentrout.

It all started with Obsidian.  I downloaded the audio book on a whim and loved it!  The story revolves around a young girl named Katy.  She and her mother just moved all the way from Florida to a new house in West Virginia.  Her mother pressures her to go out and make new friends.  So she walks next door to slyly ask for directions and introduce herself. Well guess who opens the door? Her shirtless, totally hot, new next door neighbor, Daemon.  Unfortunately, their first meeting did not go so well.  Daemon, was rude and cocky as can be.  Of course that is just the beginning. Katy, heads to town with Daemon’s directions and runs into his sister Dee.  Dee will eventually become Katy’s best friend.  But Katy is not completely oblivious that something is a bit off with the town and her new neighbors.  The truth is eventually revealed about their alien origins, and the plot thickens.  Their race has their own enemies. And what about the government? Are they friends or foe?

One of the things I like about the book series is that Katy is a bit more independent and brave than other female protagonist in other series.  However, her need to do what she wants, and to act in contrary to any of Daemon’s advice always gets her in trouble.  But of course the constant bickering and sexual tension between her and Daemon is what also makes it a great romance novel.  You are constantly wondering, are they going to get together? Are they not going to get together?  Are they going to have sex already?  Get it over with already! But that is the fun part of reading these types of books. It’s all about the build up.

Daemon is a great character, he is cocky, arrogant, great body (just look at the book covers!), but of course a kind heart…swoon.  Once you get to Origin, you are treated with his point of view every other chapter.  In fact, I liked reading the book so much I ended up buying Oblivion which is Daemon’s point of view of Book 1, Obsidian.

Since it’s a series, all the books pretty much end in cliff hangers leaving you wanting to read more. But luckily they are YA books, so the dialogue is in modern English and slang, so you breeze right through the books.  For you Twilight fans out there, it will be a funner, more erotic read.  Jennifer Armentrout even pokes fun at the books at one point:

“Will you show me what you really look like? You don’t sparkle do you?” – Oblivian

I don’t want to spoil anything for you guys, so go read them!  You can also look up more information and other books written by Jennifer Armentrout’s  on her website.  I’m definitely looking forward to reading her other books.

I’m currently, in the middle of reading Opposition, maybe I will update this post once I’m done.  If you have any comments, or have any other book recommendations, leave a comment!

Thanks for reading – Gio

  • Obsidian – Book 1
  • Onyx – Book 2
  • Opal – Book 3
  • Origin – Book 4
  • Opposition – Book 5
  • Shadows – Prequel – This is Dawson’s story
  • Oblivion – Obsidian, but from Daemon’s point of view (The ebook comes with Obsidian, Onyx, and Opal)



Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *